Advisory board

The Southern Policy Centre has a broad based advisory committee including a cross section of the major Westminster parties, as well as business, local authority, public service, university and voluntary sector partners.


[toggles class=”yourcustomclass”]
[toggle title=”John Denham – Chair of Advisory Board” class=”in”]John Denham was the MP for Southampton Itchen from 1992 until he stood down at the 2015 election. He held a variety of ministerial and Cabinet posts in the last Labour Government and also chaired the Home Affairs Select Committee. In addition to his SPC role he is a Visiting Professor at both the London School of Economics and Winchester University.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt”]Professor Sir Shadbolt is Chairman of the Open Data Institute which he co-founded with Sir Tim Berners Lee ; and Principal Elect of Jesus College, University of Oxford. He has published widely in philosophy, technology, psychology and artificial intelligence.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Liam Maxwell”]Liam Maxwell is Government Chief Technology Officer working across Whitehall and its agencies on IT, Innovation and open data. Professor Maxwell also has wide ranging experience in local government and has been an active supporter of free schools launched in Berkshire.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Professor Gioia Pesecetto”]Professor Pesecetto is Dean of the Portsmouth University Business School . A graduate of the universities of Turin, Maryland and Durham universities, she specialises in micro-economics, corporate finance and research methods.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Dr Julian Lewis” class=”in”]Dr Lewis is the Conservative Member of Parliament for the New Forest (East) and an authority on military, strategic and defence questions. With a DPhil from St Anthony’s University Lewis worked at the Conservative Research Department before entering parliament.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Councillor David Burbage”]Cllr Burbage is former Leader of Windsor and Maidenhead Council and a member of the Berkshire Fire Authority. He is also chairman of the Association of South East Councils.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Humaiun Kobir”]Humaiun is Head of External Affairs and Government at Zamir Telecom and a graduate of the London School of Economics and the University of Cambridge. He is also on the board of directors of the Cathedral Innovation Centre.[/toggle]
[toggle title=” Dr Jolanta Stanke”]Dr Stanke is a Thames Valley based IT and marketing specialist and cofounder of My Perfect Housemate.  With a background in research, consultancy and education she is a former Fulbright Scholar and previously taught at the University of Kaunas Business School. She has published widely on higher education, migration and social policy topics.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Very Rev. David Brindley” class=”in”]David Brindley is the Dean of Portsmouth and a trustee of the Rowan’s Hospice and also represents the Deans of Southern Cathedrals on the General Synod of the Church of England. A regular contributor to the media, David was previously Principal of a Theological College and Rector of Warwick where he helped launch the Arts Festival.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Annette Brooke OBE”]Annette is the former Liberal Democrat Member of Parliament for Mid Dorset and Poole. Educated at the London School of Economics she was previously Home Affairs and Education Spokesperson for the Liberal Democrats and was the party’s longest serving female MP.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Khurshid Drabu CBE”]Khurshid is a former Judge in the Upper Tier of Immigration and Asylum Courts. A barrister by training he has been Visiting Professor at the University of Middlesex.  He is a former General Secretary of the Muslim Council of Great Britain.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Mike Smith”]Mike is a non – executive director of companies specialising in recyclables and green energy. Previously Finance Director for a local authority, he is currently also a director of the Mayflower Theatre in Southampton.[/toggle]
[toggle title=” Elise Benjamin” class=”in”]Former Oxford City Councillor.  Former Chair of Employment & Economic Development Committee, East Area Parliament (area committee), Strategic Development Control Committee (planning) and Pensioners Forum.  Lord Mayor of Oxford 2011-12. Oxford City Council Green Group shadow spokesperson on Planning and Economic Development. Former primary school governor and member of various other community committees. Currently on the Board of the Broken Spoke Bike Co-op, Donnington Doorstep Family Centre, and Elder Stubbs (providing allotments for residents and a local mental health charity).[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Cllr Sandra James”]Sandra is a UKIP councillor on West Sussex County Council.[/toggle]
[toggle title=” Bob Purkiss”]Bob is the former Deputy General Secretary TGWU and currently a co-opted independent member of Hampshire police and crime panel.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Professor David Birks”]Professor Birks is Dean of the Business School at Winchester University.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Nick Ridehalgh”]Nick is the former Director of ABP, Southampton.[/toggle]

1 thought on “Advisory board”

Comments are closed.